About Gala XVIII: Give Wellness Project

“For a community to be whole and healthy, it must be based on people’s love and concern for each other”, Millard Fuller, founder of Habitat for Humanity.

Every other year, Hill Country Memorial (HCM) chooses a meaningful project to fundraise for by throwing a memorable Gala event. In 2019, Gala XVIII: Give Wellness, will be a celebration of wellness benefiting the revitalization of the HCM Wellness Center.

Through this “Give Wellness” project, HCM will be positioned to accommodate our community’s growing needs and provide an important and valuable service to members. HCM prides itself on commitment and service to community and the revitalization of the Wellness Center is the next step to continuing that care and furthering our commitment to the Hill Country.

The Wellness Center has reached peak membership group class capacity. As the population of the Texas Hill Country continues to rise, an increased emphasis on keeping this population healthy and engaging in an active lifestyle is paramount. The current Wellness Center does not have the physical space to handle the wellness needs and desires of our community.

The Wellness Center Revitalization project expects to have a significant impact on the lives of community members. By providing numerous opportunities to get healthy, the Wellness Center aims to increase membership, offer a greater diversity of programs and promote all areas of physical health and well-being. Additionally, by allowing the community to take control over their personal health, by helping them set and achieve goals and by assisting in screening and rehabilitation metrics, the Wellness Center aims to strengthen the overall health of the community resulting in fewer hospital visits and a quicker recovery time from major procedures. Community enthusiasm towards health and well-being is expected to increase as well due to the ease and availability of equipment and classroom usage. Expanded hours provide a more suitable time schedule for a busy community and also minimizes competition for classroom spaces and equipment.

The success of the Wellness Center Revitalization hinges upon the support of our local community. All proceeds from Gala XVIII will be utilized to assist in funding the Wellness Center Revitalization Project. Community participation and generosity has been a staple of Hill Country Memorial’s success dating back to its inception in 1971. Please join us as we continue to extend this honorable tradition of giving with a generous gift in support of your Wellness Center.


  • Stinson Family Foundation
  • Estela Avery
  • Cindy and Bruce Busby
  • Barbara and Royce Hunter
  • Cheri and Bill Rothermel
  • Harlan and Dian Stai
  • René Cameron, Bob and Laura Hesner, Jayne and Jack Kendall, Carol Ann Shepherd, Don and Cindy Poarch and Bill and Mary Anne Waldrip
  • Jan Cox Dwyer
  • Dr. Lorence and Florine Feller family
  • Alysha and John Metzger, Susan and Nicky Neves, Dr. and Mrs. James Partin, Maureen and Tom Polivka, Mike and Hollie Reno
  • Pathology Reference Laboratory- Dr. Shari Addington
  • Jayne and Stephen Pope
  • Access Physicians
  • Admiral Nimitz Foundation
  • Arrowhead Bank
  • Robert and Linda Bates, Barbara Heinen, Dr. Tom and Trudy Hutton, Harry and Dr. Mary Scharold, Michael and Michelle Weberpal, Linda White
  • Bierschwale-Rees Insurance- Todd and Karen Willingham, Frosty and Susan Rees
  • Centennial Bank
  • Cornerstone Clinic – Dr. Nancy Rickerhauser, Dr. Kristi
  • Stafford, Dr. John Ramsay, Dr. Karen Cornett, Dr. Matthew Hoermann
  • Eagle Global Advisors, LLC
  • First United Bank
  • Fischer and Wieser Specialty Foods
  • Fredericksburg Eye Associates
  • Frost
  • Karen Gotcher and Dennis and Lynn Yeager
  • John and Susie Hever, Steve and Sue Bertram, Bruce and Leslie Suklay, Claude Alexander, Charlie and Donna Ogelsby
  • Hill Country Titles, Inc.
  • Richard L. Hoerster and Dr. John Steve Hoerster
  • Joseph Financial Partners
  • Mike and Barbara Kearney
  • Clint and Allison Kotal and Michael and Amanda Stevens
  • Penny C. McBride
  • Opa’s Smoked Meats
  • RE/MAX Town and Country and Mickey and Teresa Dunn
  • Security State Bank & Trust
  • South Texas Money Management, LTD
  • St. David’s HealthCare
  • Texas Oncology and Cameron Brooks
  • Texas Regional Bank
  • Dr. and Mrs. Leo Tynan
  • University Health System
  • Bobby Watson and Richard Laughlin
  • Fred and Becky Wilson
  • Laurie Witt, Helen Gazewood, Dr. Martha Walton, Jo Johns, Julie Greenwood, John Weber, Pamela and Gary Liddell, Susan and Steven Longley
  • Spencer and Janice Youngblood
  • BKD, LLP
  • Dale and Abbie Crenwelge- Hidden Springs
  • Sharon and Peter Mear
  • Ray and Jane Tolson
  • Fred H. Witters
  • Mark and Sharon Beall
  • Dietel & Son Printing
  • Fredericksburg Standard Radio Post
  • David and Sandee Gasmire
  • Helen Gazewood
  • Sheri and Dr. Michael Majors
  • Reeh Plumbing
  • Wildseed Farms- John and Marilyn Thomas
  • George and Mary Ann Sanchez- Vista Oaks Event Center
  •  Estela Avery- Alegria Barn
  • 4ip Nexstream
  • The Flower Pail
  • Leslie Washburne and Sarah Washburne -Hoffman Haus
  • John and Evelyn Washburne- Le Bergerie and Otto’s German Bistro
  • Crenwelge Motor Sales – Fredericksburg & Kerrville
  • Wingman Imagery
  • Mini Mart and The Fritz Family
  • El Milagro Twenty Twelve

Gala XVIII Steering Committee

  • Penny McBride, Gala XVIII Chair
  • Jon Crenwelge, Gala XVIII Co-chair and Entertainment
  • Estela Avery, Patron Party Hostess
  • Champe Carter, Logistics
  • Jody Donovan, Underwriting
  • Margaret Dooley, Luncheon
  • Adam and Katy Hahn, Photography
  • David and Nancy Hardison, Cleanup Chair
  • Afton Hominick , Volunteer Coordinator
  • Sharon Joseph and Jim McAfee, Reservations
  • Mona Knopp, Auction Chair
  • Rhonda Martin, Dinner Chair
  • Carol Penn, Decorations Co-Chair
  • Frosty & Susan Rees, Donor Recognition Co-Chair
  • Sherry Rode, Support Team
  • Carol Ann Shepherd, Raffle Chair
  • Lara Snyder, Decorations Co-Chair
  • Annette & Bill Tilley, Donor Recognition Chair
  • Jenny Wieser, Transportation Chair